Burundi Peace Talks Begin in Kampala


His Excellency President Yoweri K. Museveni the Mediator of the Burundi crisis will this Monday morning re-launch the process of East African Community (EAC) mediated dialogue on Burundi.
This is in continuation of consultations undertaken in July 2015 in Bujumbura by His Excellency Yoweri Museveni and followed up, as per his instructions, by Dr. Chrispus Kiyonga, Minister of Defence, with political authorities as well as the entire Burundi political actors.
In a statement copied to Radio Simba, Dr. Chrispus Kiyonga Minister of Defence of the Republic of Uganda will facilitator the Burundi Dialogue acting on behalf of President Museveni.

According to impeccable sources however much President Museveni would love the blood shed to end in Burundi a country he has natured politically he is between a hard rock and a hard place because of the growing political pressures ahead of the elections come February 18 2015.
A week ago president Museveni told our reporter Joshua Mutale that he is committed to ending the Burundian Crisis.
“We cannot allow genocide to happen in Burundi. So anybody involved must be very careful to make sure that that violence stops. The region cannot accept to have another blood shade in any of the East African member countries, it cannot happen” Museveni emphasized.
The Government of Burundi will be represented by a delegation led by His Excellency Alain-Aimé Nyamitwe, Minister of External Relations and International Cooperation. The main opposition leaders, religious leaders, civil society organizations, women associations as well as former Heads of State will participate in this meeting.
Bloodshed continues in Burundi between the warring factions in what is being described as a near genocide.










The Chairperson of the EAC will be represented by Hon. Dr. Augustine Mahiga, Minister of Foreign Affairs, EAC, Regional and International Cooperation of the United Republic of Tanzania.
The Meeting will also be attended by Special Envoys as follows:
Prof. Ibrahima Fall (AU Special Representative for the Chair of the Commission), Mr. Koen Vervaeke (EU Special Envoy), Mr. Thomas Perrielo (US Special Envoy for the Great Lakes Region), Mr. Jamal Benomor (Special Adviser to the UN Secretary General on Burundi) and Prof. Ntumba Luaba, the ICGLR Executive Secretary.
Several Ambassadors and High Commissioners in the EAC will also be in attendance including H.E Jean Bosco Barege (High Commissioner of the Republic of Burundi), H.E. Rtd Maj. Gen. Geoffrey L. Okanga (High Commission of the Republic of Kenya), H.E. Maj. Gen. Frank Mugambage (High Commission of the Republic of Rwanda) and H.E. Dr. Ladislaus Columban Komba (High Commissioner of the United Republic of Tanzania).
AU Peace and Security Council members: H.E. Farid Boulahbel (Embassy of the Democratic People’s Republic of Algeria), H.E. Degefe Bula Wakijera (Embassy of the Democratic Republic of Ethiopia), Mr. Fawzi B.M. Bouketf (Chargé d’ Affaires – Embassy of Libya), Mr. Alus W. Twoden (Chargé d’ Affaires – High Commissioner of the Republic of Nigeria), and H.E. Prof. Lekoa Solomon Mollo (High Commission of the Republic of South Africa).

European Union will also send a high power delegation.
Uganda the host will be represented by H.E. Edward K. Ssekandi (Vice President), Rt. Hon. Ruhakana Rugunda (Prime Minister), Rt. Hon. Kirunda Kivejinja (3rd Deputy Prime Minister/ Minister of East African Affairs) and several Ministers and Ambassadors.
By Joshua Mutale.

Leave a Reply